The History of Le Mount Stephen
Located at 1440 Drummond Street in Montreal’s Golden Square Mile, Le Mount Stephen still bears the stamp of Scottish-born businessman, Lord George Stephen. The exclusive neo-renaissance social club, founded in 1926 and to which he lent his name, has been carefully restored to its original opulent splendor. The unique façade or our distinguished boutique hotel sets the tone for an exceptional guest experience.
About Lord Mount Stephen & His Historic Home
George Stephen played an important role in the history of Canada. He immigrated here in 1850 and eventually became one of the most powerful men in Canada’s clothing industry, as well as the President of the Bank of Montreal in 1876 and the first President of Canadian Pacific Railway. Lord Mount Stephen left his home to his sister and brother-in-law, Elsie and Robert Mieghen, and then retired in England where he lived until his death in 1922.
The Meighen family lived in the home and held many prestigious events there. The economic crisis that accompanied the first World War forced them to abandon their home in 1926, after which Don Mar Realty acquired it.
The home was then converted to a private gentlemen’s business club that hosted many notable dignitaries, such as Princess Margaret and Pierre Trudeau. The club—named the Mount Stephen Club in George Stephen’s memory—was founded by Noah Timmins, J.H. Maher and J.S. Dohan.
In 1975, the building was classified as a historic monument by the government of Québec and designated as a national historic site by the government of Canada.
Tidan Hospitality and Real Estate Group acquired this magnificent property of priceless architectural and heritage value in 2006. Today, the hotel embraces its past in the historic mansion at its forefront, and celebrates the present in a sleek contemporary tower of 90 rooms and suites behind. Without a doubt, Le Mount Stephen creates its own adjectives, and Lord Stephen’s legacy lives on.
Details of Our Historic Building
The former home of Lord Mount Stephen was designed to be worthy of his fortune and fame. Completed in 1883, the building was designed by William Tutin Thomas and constructed by J.F. Hutchinson.
The exterior of the Victorian residence is a fine example of Italian Renaissance architecture, with beautifully sculpted grey limestone walls. The home has a basement, first and second floor and an attic, only a few of which have been modified from the original design.
The interior—designed by various Italian and Scottish artists—features a distinct Italian feel, with immense rooms trimmed in high-quality woods; 10 fireplaces with custom onyx, marble and hand-painted tiles; lamps, door handles, ceiling fixtures and hinges made of 22-karat gold; ancient stained and hand-painted glass; and an impressive central stairway. Creating this home today would cost a fortune; it is surely the most unique in all of Montreal.